My LFX Mentorship Experience

LFX Mentorship Experience at CloudForet

·

4 min read

My LFX Mentorship Experience

What is the LFX Mentorship program?

The Linux Foundation Mentorship Program, commonly known as LFX Mentorship, LFX mentorship is previously known as community bridge. It's a platform designed by the Linux foundation that accelerates the adoption, innovation, and sustainability of open-source software. Basically Linux Foundation mentorship program is designed for developers mainly first-time open-source contributors learn, experiment, and contribute effectively in the open-source communities.

What is open-source?
Open source is like joining a creative community fair where you and others build awesome things together. You contribute your ideas and skills, learn new things, and collaborate like friends working on a big project. It's a global effort, making a positive impact on people's lives, and it's a joyful journey of growth and achievement.

open-source is everywhere(means there are code and non-code contributions it's not just for developers keep that in mind!).

In general, it's free to use, access, and modify depending on the licenses. It's an inclusive community and you get to collaborate with people around the world.

How do I get to know about LFX Mentorship?

Actually I get know about LFX Mentorship program from the tech communites/People on platforms like Twitter, Discord etc...

OpenSource is life-changing for a lot of folks. Companies are hiring OpenSource Engineers. LFX Mentorship is for folks starting out in OpenSource and interested in exploring the modern tech niches companies are looking forward to.

Watch this video for more:

Varies for each term(as per the LFX Website):

  • (Spring) Mentorships available on LFX Mentorship: mid-January

  • (Summer) Mentorships available on LFX Mentorship: mid-April

  • (Fall) Mentorships available on LFX Mentorship: mid-July

There are only two criteria to get into the LFX Mentorship Program:

  1. You have to be 18 years old.

  2. Not to be a prior participant in the LFX mentorship program

  3. Other than it's open to all.

Apply Here:

Explore Mentorship Programs

What is CloudForet?

Cloudforet is an Open Source Platform for Enabling Integrated Management of Multi-Clouds.

Read more about Cloudforet

My Journey at Cloudforet as a LFX Mentee’23

It was a great experience to be an LFX Mentee at Cloudforet because it allowed me to learn more about cloud and DevOps concepts.

I got selected for the Cloudforet plugin development mentorship program:

After the selection of Cloudforet LFX mentorship, I have been assigned to 5 Tasks to do:

  • Week 1. Orientation and Fundamentals

    • So in this, I've been introduced to the organization and the installation of the Cloudforet with minikube in my local system(I used Ubuntu OS for this).
  • Step 2. Understanding of Cloud Computing & Kubernetes

    • Learned about the fundamentals of cloud computing and Kubernetes and CI/CD using github actions also.
  • Step 3. Understanding of Protobuf & gRPC

    • To understand Protobuf & gRPC is the base framework of Cloudforet the LFX certification course was assigned, and I learned about it.
  • Step 4. Plugin Development Basic

    • I've been assigned to first install Cloudforet, and then create a user for the service. and then create an API user and then create an API Key for CLI.
      After that to registered the local plugin marketplace for myself. Then I can enable my custom plugin.
  • Step 5. Real-World Plugin Project

    • Code Analysis of plugin-http-file-cost-datasource

    • In this, I've been assigned to do:

      • Updating the DataSource at Step 4.

      • change base_url with your own CSV file (using Spacectl CLI)

      • Report for sync API call flow

      • based on interface, service, manager layer

      • How cost-analysis service and plugin-http-file-cost-datasource interact

I graduated successfully from Cloudforet:

Cloudforet 1:1 mentorship by Choonho Son(Mentor)

While doing this mentorship program I was stuck most of the time in understanding the tasks and completing them so my mentor Choonho sir always helped me to understand and complete those tasks and I learned a lot from him.

Conclusion

My experience was great at Cloudforet as a LFX mentorship. And you should apply in the open-source programs like as soon as possible because I can give the this surity that you'll gain somethign new and valuable skills from these programs and networking( you'll meet amazing people from around the world who are working in these kind of organizations.

Check my blog on open-source

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Suraj by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!